Camino Walkers Beware

What will you do with your money on the camino? While you are taking a shower? While you are sightseeing after you are finished walking each day? Well, don’t leave it in your purse or pack unattended. Or jacket or pants while sleeping.

I met three Slovenian ladies one day. Weeks later we met up in Monte De Gozo and I was told a terrible tale. One lady of the three had 550 euros in her purse and must have left it unattended. When she checked, her money was missing. It ruined their camino experience. It was a real downer for them. They travelled together all the time and neither one could afford to lose that much money.

At Alto de Polo one person had 200 euros stolen while she slept. Another couple had 33 euros taken. One had left it in a coat pocket and the other a pant pocket. Oh me nerves!

My solution-treat your money like it is all the money you have in the world. I hid mine in a neck purse and kept it hidden and on me at all times. I had a money belt and kept no more than 300 euros in it and it went in a waterproof bag with me in the showers. I put a 50 euro note or two 20s in a pant pocket which had a zipper. On my middle son’s advice I aimed for four locations on me at all times while walking. At no time was the neck purse, belt, or any money out of sight. And I never lost a euro. Well, nearly lost 100 euros through stupidity but that’s a story for another day!

And yes, I do agree with one of my readers that it is terrible that we have to distrust our fellow camino walkers. But with 25% unemployment in Spain and rich and poor sleeping side by side it is always a possibility. Perhaps there is a lesson to be learned by our fellow walkers who have been careless. I remember showing a German couple how I packed my bag and kept my money safe, only to discover later that the Slovenians actually believed this couple were the ones who robbed their friend. A lesson for me perhaps, or they may have been wrong! I believe the latter.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, the camino and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Camino Walkers Beware

  1. dorannrule says:

    You were very smart about carrying your money the right ways. It’s just too bad we have to be so wary of our fellow human beings.

Leave a Reply

