Picnics on the Camino De Santiago

Breakfasts and lunches can be cheaper and healthier with a little planning. My Slovenian friends were proof of that. Here are ways to keep the euros in your pocket and make sure your body is well nourished for all the walking:

…buy yoghurt of your choice
….fresh bread every day
….great cheeses are everywhere
….dates are delicious and cheap
….wine is cheap but buy just prior to your picnic
…..fruit is available everywhere
….buy chocolate to share and indulge yourself
…..bring fibre bars to have once a day
…..bring your favorite tea bags and instant coffee for using in the alberiques
….sardines and tuna are cheap so bring an opener
….canned mussels are available
….stow away jams and peanut butter for use on picnics or for breakfast
….nuts are great for energy so buy or bring your favourites

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, the camino and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Picnics on the Camino De Santiago

  1. Barbara Leyte says:

    Pauline, I knew you were on the Camino through a mutual acquaintance, Tonya B. I was hoping our paths would cross and after reading your blog I noticed we missed each other by a day or two in some places. We arrived Santiago on June 4, and stayed for three nights. I bet we crossed paths in Santiago. I enjoyed your blog and took out my Brierly guidebook to see where you stayed at night. It was great comparing your Camino experience to mine. I hope when I am in St. John’s again , Tonya, you and I , can share a ‘menu del día’ and talk about the Camino.

    Barb

Leave a Reply

