Wine or Water at Bogedas Irache

When I reached the fountains it was very early and I was following the Italian couple. That is what I did if it was very early or I didn’t know the route. The wife was the only one who could speak English and we had exchanged addresses in Ayeagui. Also she had given me a bowl of hot soup when it was very cold in one alberique. Now both were filling a bottle with wine. I tasted the wine and didn’t like the taste so filled my bottle with water.

With regards to water on the camino I found
…..I had trouble stopping to fill up my two or three bottles
…..I didn’t drink enough water
…..I ordered beer or Coke if it was hot and I was thirsty
…..I cramped up once and blamed it on low water and food
…..I saw many people with bladders that seemed convenient
…..The fountains were not spaced conveniently so I had to fill up every time I saw one
…..A few are marked un drinkable
…..I wanted to photograph many fountains
…..It refreshed me when I drank every half hour
…..I ran out of water twice
…..I used aqua tabs only once
…..I used Nuun once a day, half a tablet, to replace magnesium

I will post an address for the fountain so you can see friends on the camino in real time. Bodegas Irache (google it until I figure out how to paste the address). http://www.irache.com/fuente-del-vino.php

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, the camino and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

