Kindness on the Camino de Santiago

Chocolates offered to me by three French ladies

Sheep wool and Merino wool top given to me by Judy from Australia

Ride to Burgos train station by Spanish young fellow because his mom told him to come back and help us

 

Breakfast and guidance in to the city of Santiago by three Slovenian women.

Walking to a town with a Danish woman who didn’t need to go there as she was off to Barcelona the next day.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kindness on the Camino de Santiago

  1. mromo1962 says:

    I just got back from Spain and can also tell you countless stories of kindness from people that lived there and from those on the Camino. Good job! Cheers, Michael

    • Do tell us at least one story.

      • mromo1962 says:

        There were so many!! Here’s one that touched me. Sue (my Australian walking companion) and I were in a village at the beginning of the climb to O Cebreiro (a massive climb!) and there was an elderly lady (in her 80’s) walking down the road. I happen to speak fluent Spanish so I jokingly said to her, “Have you come down off the mountain?” She laughed and while holding my hand and stroking it told me to make sure that I put my jacket on because it was cold and to make sure to eat before the climb and drink plenty of water. She was a kind soul with a vibrant twinkle in her eye! This was one of the moments that make the Camino special. Cheers, Michael

      • How sweet she was! You have many memories to cherish.

        Sent from my iPad

  2. mromo1962 says:

    If you want to hear another account of kindness on the Camino go to my blog and see my post titled, A Special Gift.

Leave a Reply

