Most important …

Most important bit of advice for any camino- travel light! I recommend under ten pounds. You don’t need 5 pairs of socks or 6 thongs. An extra pair of boots can weigh 2 pounds, but perhaps no one will steal your everyday ones. A long sleeve fleecey and a short sleeve are enough. An Altus Poncho can keep you dry, and warm. A sleeping bag liner is enough as most alberiques have blankets(from May-September). Collapsible light poles are great as you can hide them in your pack at night.

In most alberiques your boots are left at the door or just inside. I would have a plastic bag so that I could sneak my boots in to place under my bed. At first I would just remove my inserts but later I took the whole pair!  Sunscreen and a hat are musts. A bag for treats along the way is necessary. I brought fibre bars, Holy Crap, a Spork and small containers for chocolate and nuts.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
Quote | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Most important …

  1. Do people steal boots on the Camino? How awful!

Leave a Reply

