The Young Girl Who Shared Her Food With Me

Her phone was dead, she said, as she sat on the big rock on the side of a mountain before Acebo. I had a mind to ask her if I could make a call to my husband but her comment stopped me in my tracks. She asked if I wanted to have some of her orange. I accepted. Then I offered her some nuts.

We sat for ten minutes discussing the great view from the mountain. She was travelling alone but had no fear. I asked if her parents were worried about her. She said they travelled a lot and didn’t worry. She was young with long brown hair, and so full of energy. 

She decided to hurry on ahead but somehow I arrived at the alberique ahead of her and said hello when she showed up. She was running with her journal to go back on the mountain to do some writing. Climb a mountain? I didn’t want to climb another mountain today, especially if I had climbed it to arrive where I was on the camino.

I never saw this girl again, but our paths had crossed for an hour that day. I wish her a happy life.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Young Girl Who Shared Her Food With Me

  1. Darlene says:

    I love the stories about the people you met on your walk.

Leave a Reply

