Camino In Your Blood

Have you a yearning to walk a camino? If so you might set yourself up for being addicted to the life on the camino. There are 12 caminos which end in Santiago, so Ive heard. In May 2013 I walked from St. Jean Pied de Port to Santiago. Now I have a yearning to return. I have a list of things I will do differently next time. Smaller pack For sure. No sleeping bag. No second pair of hiking boots. Buy food and cook for myself.

I met a Frenchman on my first camino who was walking his 12th camino with a friend who was walking for the fourth time. I think these two men will do a camino every year. They love the lifestyle. They love meeting people and seeing new places each day. And walking and many other attractive parts of the camino. They were looking after a Brazilian woman who was walking for the first time. She also happened to be very attractive.

I can see the addictive part about the camino. The coffee, croissants, beer and wine aren’t bad either. Sitting at roadside cafes all hours of the day is enticing, especially in fine weather.

The guide books, the maps, the books about other people’s experiences on the camino-it is all very interesting. No wonder thousands of people walk the camino every year! It is like a drug for the senses. It is fairly cheap to live as a pilgrim. One can imagine how walking the camino gets in a person’s blood.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, the camino and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Camino In Your Blood

  1. Pingback: My Camino Video | Melanie's Life Online

Leave a Reply

