Don’t Ignore Your Fellow Canadians On The Camino

  • I had a patch of the Canadian flag on my Gregory backpack. Many pilgrims passed me and said “Hello Canadian”. It made me feel good. Then one day a beautiful British Columbian woman passed me without speaking. When I saw the Canadian Flag on her small pack, I shouted “Hi there, which part of Canada are you from?” We got to chatting and because I lived in B.C., started my teaching career there, got my new daughter-in-law from there, I forgave her the oversight.

    But I did get the feeling at times that some pilgrims from Canada want to be the only Canadians on the trail. What does it matter? It should not matter that there are other pilgrims from my own province on the camino. I’m proud that many Canadians are walking and doing this special journey. It really confused me when I met four Newfoundlanders who didn’t tell anyone about their camino trips. To each his own, I guess. I’m so proud to say I’ve walked the camino and as you know I like to share my experiences.

    Happy camino to all who are walking!

  • About Newfoundland Traveller

    I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
    This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

    4 Responses to Don’t Ignore Your Fellow Canadians On The Camino

    1. Did you meet the Newfoundlanders on the trail or subsequent to your trip? Perhaps they felt no one would be interested which , of course, you realize is not the case.

    2. coastalcrone says:

      Walking is always good!

    Leave a Reply

    