A Good Appetite Is A Sign of Good Health

I must be a very healthy Newfoundlander because my appetite is enormous. I remember while walking the camino de Santiago that I knew if I ate my meals and some fresh fruit, nuts and chocolate in between, that I would have few problems. I was advised that I could eat food providing up to 5000 calories. This was quite a jump from 1200-1500 that I was used to.

One of my worries before the walk was food poisoning or diarrhea on the journey. But nothing, nada, and I knew then that my inner parts were working well. Thank God!

I always believed in eating a good breakfast, so the croissants and cafe con leche was good but not up to my usual standards at home. So I searched for bacon and eggs and fruit. It was not hard to find. Cafes would usually comply if asked. In one hotel I received one egg scrambled with enough bacon and bread to make a sandwich for lunch. And all for 3 euros, about $4.20 Canadian. This included cafe con leche as well. I picked up a huge orange on a table farther down the road. In the cafes orange juice is very expensive, delicious and nutritious, but off my budget. I tried it once in 30 days.

Lunches were mainly sandwiches with delicious cheese and ham or tomatoes. No condiments were used, and the bread was a little hard to chew, but it tasted wholesome each day. Often I bought yogourt or bananas to give more energy. Chocolate was purchased all over the place. I often shared blocks with passing pilgrims. Few refused!

Suppers were made up of three courses. The second course was predictable. Most had white French fries and some kind of meat or fish. The first course was soup, paella, spaghetti, calamari, or mixed salad. The salad was usually very good but one time it was just lettuce with chopped onion. The dessert was a choice of fruit or yogourt. Some places had ice cream, Santiago cake or flan. Wine or water was offered. I did not enjoy most wine but a better bottle could be ordered for two or three euros more. I slept with a full belly most nights. I did get sick of the same fare and ordered a hamburger a few times.

Yes, I did lose 20 pounds during the walk, but it soon found its way back after a few months back home. No apologies to anyone there. I love my meals and need to step up the walking to take care of all the energy produced. Walking has many benefits!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

