The Things You Remember

Nearly four months after returning from the Camino de Santiago images come to me at the oddest times. I close my eyes to go to sleep at night when I remember the old Chinese man who was alone and didn’t speak a word of English. I had so many to communicate with and he had no one. I met an old Chinese lady days later and she thought she knew who I was referring to. He was alone on so many levels but probably liked it that way.

The three French ladies appear time and time again. One time it is of them sitting in a big field, relaxing and eating a sandwich. The next time I see them is walking past me the next morning, each holding a fancy chocolate which each lady in turn offered to me.

Another memory is of Synovoe from Denmark calling herself a formidable woman, sitting across from me at a restaurant. It was after this that we laughed and became very good friends. She told me “No one would mess with you, Mom, because you look so formidable.” This was her quote from her children. Then she had looked at me and asked if I thought she was formidable. We were nonstop chatterboxes while we were together!

 

Then my mind goes back to the three Slovenians who called me their Pauline. My heart was brimming with joy when we reunited at Monte de Gozo. Then I hurt when one had a lot of money stolen. I will never forget our time together, especially the hours in Santiago.

These memories will definitely shape the rest of my journey.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

