Keeping One’s Mind Alert

It seems to be a recurring theme throughout my writing lately that we should keep our minds alert. I often feel it is getting increasingly harder as I have become so forgetful since my retirement. I want to go back to school. But how will I ever remember things? I want to pursue a life of travel. But I get lost everywhere I go, even in department stores.

I’ve always known I’m not great with remembering names. I’m most embarrassed when I meet parents of children I’ve taught and I have to say “How are your children?” And wait patiently while they explain. Often I look at old emails and wonder “Who is that?” I blame the latter on too much reliance on technology. When I was in Paris in June I couldn’t remember the name of my hotel. Of course that it was in French didn’t help either. The morning I was checking out, I saw a business card and could have kicked myself when I realized how much easier it would have been had I taken one of them at check in and not days later after I’d gotten lost three times. Each time I had opened my phone to find the name of the hotel and its address!

So I try to remember names of actors, writers, movies, places and people I know. I read lots of books and newspapers. I browse online. I figure I might have half a chance if I keep vigilant.
Got any suggestions? Making lists and keeping a journal help too. I’d be open to hearing how you keep your mind in shape.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Keeping One’s Mind Alert

  1. cornishtim says:

    Snap! As a teacher for thirty odd years I managed to remember thousands of names and now I forget the name of my nephew or niece. I sometimes call a refrigerator an oven and so on. I dare not think what this may mean and would share any hints to sharpen up the softening grey matter.

    • We lose so many brain cells every day. It amazes me how older folk remember so much. Doing crossword puzzles, writing down stories and lists, doing zuduko….all of these help. They should… Haha What do I know? Help!

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Wish I could help you. I do sudoku , crossword puzzles , scrabble and still forget things. It is frustrating . I have come to the conclusion that I have not forgotten it is just that my retrieval is not as rapid. The information is there but just as my legs are slower moving my communication networks are slowing down. Often if I just let go of trying to recall something it will just pop up out of the blue without any effort at all. Unfortunately the information is too long overdue and useless by that time.
    I remember reading how to boost brain cells but alas I have forgotten where I put the article. 🙂

Leave a Reply

