Sheep’s Wool on the Camino de Santiago

What? How could sheep’s wool possibly help on the long walk between St. Jean Pied de Port and Santiago in Spain? I’m about to get into this but first let me tell you about first seeing two Manitoba walkers gathering wool from fences at the beginning of our walk. I was walking with Judy from Australia, so I asked if she knew why the Canadians were gathering wool.

Judy was an avid walker and a good bit older than me, by at least ten years. She was in better shape than me, this I will admit. She did not always get my humour, and thought I saw the glass as half empty, which most of my friends know me to be a very positive soul. To move this story along, this Aussie knew the answer. Something I would never even considered…

Yes, I know I’m keeping you hanging on here. Clean wool can be placed between your toes if you have sores or rubbing. Before parting ways, my smart new Aussie friend offered me a wad of very clean wool that a friend had shared with her. Boy, was I ever thankful!

Days later I used some of my wool between two toes that were rubbing together. Another morning I offered some Polysporin to a fellow who could not speak a word of English. When I saw how many blisters he had I gifted him with some of my coveted wool. I showed him how to use it. He smiled and I knew I had done my good deed for the day.

So now you know my story on sheep’s wool! Some people also use it to line their hiking boots to prevent blisters. The many uses of wool…limited only by one’s imagination! Where can I get a handful for Camino Portugues?

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

