Strong Camino Woman

If all goes to plan I will publish my ebook before the end of April, 2014. I’ve decided to do a day by day account of my camino de Santiago. I was overweight and in poor physical condition, although I was in denial. I had joined a gym and did 47 Zumba classes prior to going. I had many fears but kept most to myself.

 

i started out with an Australian lady and later went on my own. I walked with South Koreans, a Nowegian, three Slovenians, an Irish girl named Yvonne, a German man named Guido, a Spanish man near Boente, and so many hundreds more.

Yes, I tried to help some pilgrims. I did reflexology on three ladies in Burgos, helped (with my sheep wool and Polysporin) a man who spoke no English in Belorado, did reflexology on a young German girl’s feet and then instructed her how to do it on her boyfriend’s feet. I sewed on a button for an American who didn’t know how and so on.

Walking into one village on a holiday I encountered canon fire, which was a little scary. Meeting a very tall pilgrim coming towards me in the middle of a forest, with no one else around, tested my courage and determination. Barking dogs at times made me face my fear of dogs. So many experiences in a month!

Highlights of my walk include meeting three wonderful Slovenian ladies, a Greenland girl, and a Norwegian named Synovoe, the Irish lassie called Yvonne, the lovely German father who loved his family dearly, the young Jose in Burgos who came back and brought Nikki, a lovely French pilgrim and myself to the train station because his mother told him to come back and rescue us from hitch hiking and getting nowhere, the wonderful Italian lady who was pregnant and who was walking to thank God for her first child being healthy, for the hospitaleros who shared their skills in making us comfortable.

To find out much more, you will have to wait for my ebook. Check it out on Smashwords. It will be there by the end of April for $1.99. Strong Camino Woman will tell all about my first camino, the highs and lows, and it will contain a free exerpt. There will be stats, quotes, journal entries, blog entries and day by day accounting of this wonderful journey. I hope you will at least read the excerpt.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Strong Camino Woman

  1. Darlene says:

    Good luck with the e-book!

  2. Thank you so much! I need to get it done before going on another adventure.

Leave a Reply

