One pound on your feet=Five pounds on your back

I am trying to pack light for my next camino but Ive decided to take a tent. It weighs a little more than a pound. I tried to remove a pound from clothing and other necessities but it doesnt even register on my scale!  My Gregory Jade backpack is about two pounds. I already have light hiking sneakers Merrell Calia’s, and my North Face sleeping bag is about a pound. This year Ive added a sleeping bag liner because it could be cool at night esp if we are camping out.

I do believe John Brierley is writing his guides for very healthy thirty or forty year olds. Definitely not for nearly sixty year olds who struggle with weight and exercise. Walking 30 km a day is a marathon each day. I know after a week of walking we can do it easily…well maybe! Brierley shows 23 days to do it. I have 29 tops. Bring it on. Perhaps with a lighter pack. We will have to wait and see. Camino Portugues here we come!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One pound on your feet=Five pounds on your back

    • Yes I hope my feet are as good as last year. The plane ride was painful and those who say walk around, where can you move freely on a plane! I was lucky to escape withone blister that gave me no pain. How much to carry in your pack? I know the guide is 10% of one’s body weight. Who needs to carry thAt much?

Leave a Reply

