The Camino Portugues

The Camino Portugues is the second most popular camino to Santiago, Spain. Camino Frances is the most popular. It is the one I walked from May 4-June 3, 2013, and did a first camino book about this past month. The French camino is so well marked and there are so many pilgrims walking it that one never feels alone while on it. There are cafes and albergues every 10-15 kilometres. However, the Camino Portugues is becoming more pilgrim friendly. Having read many blogs and accounts of this second camino, I figure I will have to push myself to the limit to make the 30+ km day limits in reaching the next villages. I like 15-20 km maximum, which is a good marathon each day. 30+km days are way over my realm of possibilities but I will have to push myself to keep up with my very fit companion Yvonne.

It is my goal to get up at daybreak, eat and use the bathroom, and be out the door early each day. Take five-seven hours to walk to the next town, with a half hour break at noon for lunch and four ten minute breaks, arriving at our destination before 3 p.m. each day. Now can I do that? Only time will tell. I think it will be easier on the 20 km days. We will refer to these as rest days, as they will not be as trying as the 30 km days.

Bread and cheese, nuts and fruit will be our snacking food, with a café for breakfast.  And hopefully the pilgrims’ meal will be nourishing each evening. I’m sure I’ll have a hamburger when one is available. And my favorite meal of bacon and eggs!

You can follow our journey on this blog. Just sign up to follow. Thanks for all your kind messages during my last camino and I’m sure I’ll hear from you during the Camino Portugues.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Camino Portugues

  1. Emmie Penney says:

    Best of luck! I’m looking forward to your blogs. Do you have your book for sale ? Amazing journey you are on 😊

  2. I’m hoping to upload my book to Smashwords.com before I leave on my Camino Portugues. Thanks. See you in the summer.

Leave a Reply

