Where are your cowboys boots, lady?

The Camino Portugues has begun. After a tiring night of ice, snow, problems with out plane out of Newfoundland, late arrival in London, and trouble with gate numbers at Heathrow, my friend and I arrived in Lisbon, Portugal. We took a bus immediately to our hotel, checked in, and with the 21 degrees C weather, we relieved ourselves of some clothes. Then we left to find the Igresa de Martires on the Metro. Buying a card in Portuguese proved difficult but with the help of a passerby and a worker at the place, we got a card each for our return trip to the church to pick up our pilgrimsº passport. We stayed and walked around afterwards, and I took some photos. That is when a man shouted the above question. I smiled and walked on.

We both bought an almond wrapped ice cream(1.80euros) and sat out in the sunshine and enjoyed it. (Donºt get too envious all of you experiencing bad weather!) Then we crossed many busy streets to find our way back to the Metro, which we fluked into at the end. The train was getting busy and we were glad to be going back to the hotel. We then tried to find the bus station to get our ticket for Fatima.

We were a little lost again! So we asked a passing lady and she walked right to the station with us. We purchased our tickets for 12 euros each, and eagerly await the 10:30 a.m. bus ride to the holy place. I will deliver requests there from some people back home.

So after sending messages, updating my status on Facebook, and having a small snack at a cafe next door, we are soon ready to turn in for the night. Iºm sure it wonºt take long for our minds and bodies to calm down for a well deserved rest. Tomorrow should prove interesting and a lot of fun. Oh, yes, I get to wear my new Isis skirt in the church in Fatima!

Facts/Observations about Lisbon:

In 1755 there was a major earthquake here and a large percentage of the old buildings needed to be rebuilt.

Street walking is crazy with all the traffic

The Metro is easy to use and not very expensive

Cafe con leche is only 1.10 euros.(not sure about wine and beer!)

20140811-064952.jpg

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Where are your cowboys boots, lady?

  1. cornishtim says:

    Go ! Go ! Go! I will enjoy your travels. I’m of to Le Puy in France but only for two weeks this time!
    Have a bien camino.

  2. Edie says:

    Glad to hear you both arrived safe and sound, and are enjoying some nice weather.

  3. Darlene says:

    Have a wonderful time. How did he know you were Canadian when he asked, “Where are your cowboy boots?”

  4. Following your blog and enjoying it much.I can almost imagine that I am actually there travelling along with you. Once again….Hats Off to You ..You are to be admired for your courage and tenacity. So…’til next time!

  5. I will be following you. Write lots.

Leave a Reply

Where are your cowboys boots, lady?

The Camino Portugues has begun. After a tiring night of ice, snow, problems with out plane out of Newfoundland, late arrival in London, and trouble with gate numbers at Heathrow, my friend and I arrived in Lisbon, Portugal. We took a bus immediately to our hotel, checked in, and with the 21 degrees C weather, we relieved ourselves of some clothes. Then we left to find the Igresa de Martires on the Metro. Buying a card in Portuguese proved difficult but with the help of a passerby and a worker at the place, we got a card each for our return trip to the church to pick up our pilgrimsº passport. We stayed and walked around afterwards, and I took some photos. That is when a man shouted the above question. I smiled and walked on.

We both bought an almond wrapped ice cream(1.80euros) and sat out in the sunshine and enjoyed it. (Donºt get too envious all of you experiencing bad weather!) Then we crossed many busy streets to find our way back to the Metro, which we fluked into at the end. The train was getting busy and we were glad to be going back to the hotel. We then tried to find the bus station to get our ticket for Fatima.

We were a little lost again! So we asked a passing lady and she walked right to the station with us. We purchased our tickets for 12 euros each, and eagerly await the 10:30 a.m. bus ride to the holy place. I will deliver requests there from some people back home.

So after sending messages, updating my status on Facebook, and having a small snack at a cafe next door, we are soon ready to turn in for the night. Iºm sure it wonºt take long for our minds and bodies to calm down for a well deserved rest. Tomorrow should prove interesting and a lot of fun. Oh, yes, I get to wear my new Isis skirt in the church in Fatima!

Facts/Observations about Lisbon:

In 1755 there was a major earthquake here and a large percentage of the old buildings needed to be rebuilt.

Street walking is crazy with all the traffic

The Metro is easy to use and not very expensive

Cafe con leche is only 1.10 euros.(not sure about wine and beer!)

20140811-064952.jpg

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

