A Macdonalds in Mealhada

Yesterday was a killer day. Killer on the feet and scorching with 32  degrees C. By the time we got to the hamlet we were done in! We learned several lessons. Listen to your body. I should have stopped an hour before I did. Also we should have stopped at the Tourist office to find the new Residencial Celeste.

Some surprises happened on our walk. A vineyard owner saw about six of us sitting at a cafe. He gave us two bottles of wine. We drank a glass to see if we liked it and it tasted fruity and sweet.

Then when I was near heat exhaustion an old woman got me a large bottle of water. Then she helped call Celeste’s and a young man came to pick us up.

Later we ordered food and the omelet and salad were delicious.

A Scottish girl named Julie filled my water bladder with water. She has a 50 pound backpack. Also she likes her cigarettes.

Martin from Ireland loaned me afterbite cream with antihistamine in it. He also had some fly oil without deet. Martin is a retired teacher.

Overall an exhausting but happy day!

image

image

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

