May 24/14 Ponte do Lima 16km

We left Jacinto and Fernanda Rodriques’ lovely place after an amazing free or donation breakfast. It was hard to wait until 7:30 as we are usually on the go by 6 a.m. We walked for nearly 10km and stopped at a lovely cafe. The lady stamped our passports. It was a good rest for our feet and to warm our bones as it had been very chilly at the casa the night before. Yvonne and I had icecream.

We stopped to straighten up backpacks for more comfort. I ate a banana and then trudged our final kilometres into Ponte do Lima. This is the well known oldest city in Portugal and I could literally spend a few weeks here. White horses were giving people rides down by the rio Lima. Wide promenades had people of every nationality walking and chatting. As we walked over to the albergue to explore and find Claus, we were offered a free apple by a group who asked us to walk. We laughed as the Costa Rican girl Connie explained that we walked from Lugar today. We all accepted a gift of an apple. Then my new clipons broke so I am once again without sunglasses. I may tape them on with a bandaid as one store we tried asked 28 euros for new clipons.

We had vegetable soup,bread and butter and black tea for 7.60 euros. More expensive than other places!

We are meeting Angelica from Germany, Claus from Denmark and Connie from Costa Rica to eat the pilgrims meal for 7 euros each. They are currently at a cafe having wine for .80 euro. Connie found the spot!

Wifi is working for Yvonne but not for me. I will upload at a later time.

20140811-065433.jpg

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

