Scanning Code of Practice or SCOP

Most of you probably have never heard of the Scanning Code of Practice. I had never heard about until I visited a popular store in the city of St. John’s, Newfoundland. I will keep the store unnamed as it could get the check out lady in trouble. I picked up a cleanser in the cosmetics section as I noticed it was on sale for $8.49, and I had no idea what the regular price was.

At the checkout a $12.49 charge was coming up. Right away I told the lady and she said “Come with me and we will check it out.” This was a first for me. No person leaves her position and checks on a price. Another person looks it up.

When we reached the shelf this lovely worker saw that last week’s price was displayed. She said in a low voice “Have you heard of the scanning code of practice?” I nodded no. She explained ” If you ask me for the item free I have to give it to you. When a higher price comes up and we investigate and find out that a lower price is displayed, you get it free. But you have to ask.” So I asked….

Instead of paying $25 for my items that day, I paid just over $12. That was a pleasant surprise! Now why dont you try it next time you are shopping? I heard that Target doesnt honour it, but with a little pressure they might be convinced that it is in their best interest.

You can teach an old dog new tricks!

http://www.canadianbudgetbinder.com
Here it states if it is $10 or less, but I got the $12.49 item free.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

