Day To Day Life of a Newfoundland Woman

I am not so different from other women. I wake some days and jump out of bed, enthusiastically looking forward to a nice shower and eggs for breakfast. I putter around until I go to meet some friends for a coffee and a chat. Sometimes I sit around in my nightdress until 11 or later hoping for some energy or inspiration for writing. Though I love to do caminos I really dont like to walk far around my town.

Today I had to make a decision to buy tire and rim insurance or not. Knowing how bad the roads are on the Avalon Peninsula, I decided to fork over the $918. Whew! That was a lot and now Im really broke. These decisions are difficult for me. But fear of pothole damage made it a little easier.

Yesterday I had some kind of stomach bug and wondered if my tuna sandwich contained a bacteria. At the best of times my stomach can react to stress or unusual foods. If I have pop with fish and chips I can have a bad stomach immediately. I know this but I make myself suffer once a month.

Even dealing with face cleansing causes stress when one is nearly 60. I bought night and day creams at duty free last camino and this one. Last week I picked up a matching L’Oreal cleanser. The cleaning sheets I bought when on sale leave a residue on my face. Each morning I have to fight with myself to cleanse my face and put on the day cream and sunscreen. It has to be a very social day before I put on foundation. Usually it would have to be a special event before I apply eye shadow, mascara and blush. It is just too much of a chore. If I stay at home all day I just wash my face.

I can understand why some people wear the same clothes day after day. It is not dirty usually. And it takes less time and thinking. For example today I decided to wear my new green shorts I bought at Sears. Then what top should I wear with it? What a minor but major problem!! One beige top I tried had one big stain which irritated me. Then a lovely floral top my husband bought for me came to mind. It looked nice but it was too see through. Then a new white top I had bought in Spain was tried on but it revealed too much as well. An One Earth top went on next. Oh, this was getting so frustrating. In the end I settled on a white sleeveless top that showed my big bruise and my batty arms!!!

So Im not even out the door! I need to put two bags of clothes Im donating into my trunk. Am I going to visit my new Chinese friends? I put a bag in the car just in case I go there. Im meeting my second camino walking buddy so I take the cd of photos I made for her at Walmart. I poke in a book that Im writing my How My Childhood Influenced My Teaching stories in, just in case Im bored.

I put up the garage door, back out my car, and close and lock two doors. I sit in the car and realize Im not going anywhere without my Samsung Galaxy 2. It is on the table in the living room! It is not even 8 a.m. yet.
On my way I check our mailbox as it is easier to drive on than on my return. No mail except for a Bell Mobility flyer. No, Im not paying $100 more each month!

After a small breakfast I leave to pick up some groceries which end costing more than my list which I couldnt find when I got to Dominion. My fridge was looking bare so I needed all items

I call a friend and pop over for a coffee and a chat. And so the day unfolds. I drive carefully home to find my lightest clothes. I hate hot days. I hate smearing sunscreen all over my body.

I neglect my writing as the heat is stifling. Soon we will need air conditioning in our Newfoundland homes.

Check out my faster moving ebook Strong Camino Woman at
http://www.smashwords.com

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

