Australians On The Camino de Santiago

I was feeling quite inadequate as a walker after walking with my Aussie companion Judy. She was a few years older than me and svelte. I thought about the childbirth I had endured on three sons but that was no excuse for my big belly. Too much bread and too little walking were the culprits. And my general stress level while teaching. Okay, so we all know our own weaknesses and stressors, but that is no excuse to become a couch potato and computer lounger at 58!

I met a lovely photographer named Sean, also from Australia. He loved to talk and I love to ask questions, so we learned a lot in the minutes we spent in several places- an alberigue and a cafe. He promised to take my photo if he saw me walking. He did pass me and got me on my worst day but I am still waiting for the photo. He wrote down my name and address back at an alberigue.

Margaret was from New Zealand and it was nice walking with her and sleeping in a bunk besides hers one noisy night. She had trouble with her knees, I heard later from Judy. She had to take the bus part of the way. A very nice lady!

If you want to read more about this walk in Spain, check out http://www.smashwords.com. My ebook is called Strong Camino Woman. 15% is free. Happy reading!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

