Oh, The Heat In Newfoundland This Past July 2014

Many Newfoundlanders go South every Winter. Not me! I like 20-24 degrees Celsius, no higher. One day this July the temperature was nearly 40 degrees with the humidity. I have no AC unit or fans. I call fans noise pollution. I could live in a cabin in the woods with no lawn mowers or snow blowers to keep me from a good nap.

When I walked two caminos, I encountered some hot days and struggled to keep going. In Spain and Portugal I did not hear one lawn mower or quad. Horses nibbled at the grass. Transportation was on feet or bicycles and small tractors did much of the work. Often men and women were seen pushing wheelbarrows or carts. Heat did not impede their work.

I have no idea what to do on hot days. I don’t tan, after an encounter with melanoma. I don’t trust sun screens. I’ve never used a tanning bed. I am retired so there is no need to go outside unless it is to take advantage of AC in the malls or in my car. It is too hot to do housework. I can wash clothes and hang them on the clothesline to dry quickly. So, you can see, I’m not sure how to spend these days.

Hot days are for the birds! They don’t seem to mind. How about you?

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

