Last Day of Food Fishery August 2014

20140810-101739.jpg

Just drove out on the shore to take a couple pictures of my husband and our guests going out to jigg some fish. This couple was overjoyed to be catching 10 fish for themselves. My husband Peter had been a fisherman for 40 years so they are in very capable hands.

Since I am at home cooking dinner for all of us I have a few minutes to write up some thoughts on this day in St. Shotts. I ate a big breakfast so I wouldn’t chance going on the water as the last time I was out I got terribly seasick. And I swore if I ever went again it would be on an empty stomach.

So the meal is all ready to cook slowly until the good folks are back on land. It may not take very long as they can only get 5 codfish each, a total of 15 per boat. How foolish is that, when 10 each would cut down on the expense of going out twice to get that number of fish!

The Liniden Walkie Talkie just rang but I pressed the right side button, which was probably the wrong one, and nothing happened. I held in the left side button and there was a lot of noise. No one said a word, so I’m baffled. I’ve used the gadget before so now I’m wondering if there is a problem or if the call was for someone else.

The coffee is strong and good, so I am sitting here wondering about the conversation in the boat and another call comes in. The three fisher persons are in to the wharf with their 15 fish. Already…not even an hour!

20140810-101302.jpg

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last Day of Food Fishery August 2014

  1. Pingback: Last Day of Food Fishery August 2014 | newfoundlandtraveller

Leave a Reply

