The 2014 St. Shotts’ Weekend That Had Some Twists and Turns

Friday night was one of the worst nights that we have ever experienced, with thunder and lightening that was scary. But all of that happened after midnight. Before that there was heavy downpours but that didn’t hamper the fireworks and then the bonfire on the beach. My husband and I watched the beautiful fireworks from our front room window.

On Saturday morning we just had our kettle boiled when the power went, came back and then went for good…until nearly 10 p.m. This threw a monkey wrench into our day as we had planned to have fried fish for our guests who would be arriving around noon. The river race went ahead and the sun shone brightly. Our guests were content with sandwiches, raisin buns, bakeapple and rhubarb jam and date squares. The beer and wine were still cool, so no problems there!

My husband hooked up a small generator and kept one refrigerator going. We wondered how we would cook our chicken wings for the 5 o’clock potluck in the community hall. Peter again figured that out after our afternoon of bakeapple picking. He boiled the wings in a big pot on the barbecue and later drained the water and poured honey garlic sauce on them and simmered them in our roasting pan.

The sun was shining for the cemetery mass, and folks had no trouble finding the hall for the potluck supper. We were surprised by how much food was there. There seemed to be just as much food as ever and someone had even boiled water for tea or coffee on a propane unit outside the building. The committee members never skipped a beat! Kudos to all of them!

Then people were wondering if the dance was going ahead, and an announcement was made that it would be taking place, with or without electricity. Fine St. Shotts’ spirit!

Sure enough the band arrived and the hall was in full swing! What a night of laughter and fun! Considering there are only about 60-70 people living in this tiny community most of the time, to pull off an event for over 200 is no mean feat. All residents and visitors appreciated the involvement of committees and volunteers who gave of their time, hard work and abilities to make this an unforgettable weekend, despite the inclement weather starting it off and on Sunday afternoon and with the added burden of power stoppage. Hats off to the volunteers and the good ole Newfoundland spirit! It’s alive and well in the tiny community of St. Shotts!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The 2014 St. Shotts’ Weekend That Had Some Twists and Turns

  1. It warmed my heart to read your blog about this year’s St.Shott’s weekend. Not at all surprised at how well the people there handled the obstacles that were thrown their way. It’s in the blood and has been passed down through the generations. 100% proof that the Newfoundland spirit is alive and well !

  2. I had a meal that was fit for a king. First was the boiling hot pea soup with a delicious dumpling, then wings, rice, meatballs and pepper steak. I don’t know how they kept everything so hot. After that it was steamed pudding with partridge berry jam. I was thinking that a cup of tea would really put the finishing touches on my meal. Fabian was thinking the same thing, I followed him outdoors to find a Coleman stove with the boiling water. I had my tea and I was so impressed with the great volunteers to be able to cater to such a big crowd while the power was off. Congratulations to you all. Keep up the great community spirit. Too bad that I did not stay for the last day of the festivities. I just figured that after all the eating, I needed to get back to my gym class for 7 PM .

  3. Yes, the people have a very positive outlook and nothing fazes them. They are great volunteers. I still recall the Come Home Year in 2012. It was well organized and lots of fun. The activities and food were outstanding. Ditto again this St. Shotts Weekend.

Leave a Reply

