Calgary In September 2014

Oh, it is so great to see the children and their families! Nice to visit familiar streets and cafes, too. Walking to Prince’s Island Park was hectic with all the skateboarders, bicyclists and other walkers but it was worth it. The park is beautiful and accessible to all.

Higher Ground and The House are lovely cafes to sit and chat or just write like I do. The coffee is good and the chatter inspires one to keep busy. It helps with the creative process. I will return there every time we come.

Since I am retired now I don’t mind that the shop items are too expensive. I don’t need anything and if I chance upon a 90% off sale as I did at the Peacock Boutique, I buy items for my daughters in law, not for me. It is great to say “I don’t need more silver rings, or stylish shoes or handbags.” I might buy a pair of earrings if they strike my fancy and are less than $20. Or I might find a book for my five grand kids or for myself. You never know what you will find on Kensington. Isn’t that the thrill of browsing anyway?

So I don’t have many friends here, but the family makes up for that! I have met the neighbours and others at Callum’s birthday party. They are all so very welcoming. I could live here for a month every year, or come every two years for a week! Anywhere is home when you have family and friends who are happy you are here.

So to all the Newfoundlanders who make Alberta home, I’m happy for you. I love the trips to Canmore and Banff. I love the tiny free libraries in front of people’s houses. I love the parks and cafes. Most of all I love the friendly faces who ask where you got your accent. At least they care enough to ask! I always ask ‘And where did you get yours?’ I hope I’ll be around to come back again for a visit.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Calgary In September 2014

  1. Darlene says:

    So glad you had a great trip to Calgary. Although I am from Medicine Hat, I lived in Calgary for 6 years before moving to the west coast. It is a fun and very friendly place. I loved shopping in Kensington and I worked down town. My latest book takes place in Alberta, in and around Calgary.I’m sure the grandchildren enjoyed having you there.

  2. I will get a copy of your book for my granddaughters. Im sure they will love it. We have had a great time visiting two parks andseeing family.

Leave a Reply

