Camino Del Norte Here I Come!

Keep the poisonous snakes, wild boars, brown bears and wolves away. I’m soon heading off to walk my third camino. I fly to Paris and then grab some trains to Hendaye and walk to Irun. The closer it gets the more fears surface. I go through this every year. Then I close off from thinking about all the fears and get my tickets. This year I got them on points, like Camino Frances. I’m flying into Charles De Gaulle airport alone.

I’ve added a few items to my Gregory Medium backpack. These include a better map compass, BD z poles, a waterproof plasmic jacket, waterproof puffer down jacket, waterproof socks. You can tell I’m realistic in expecting rain and fog on the Del Norte! I need new tips for the z poles and Nuun tablets plus energy bars for replenishing the energy.  I’m cutting back on all the clothes and first aid items. I’m also adding Penaten cream, which kept my feet blister free last camino. Live and learn. I also bought a new Black Sea to Summit neck purse.

Last year I carried 20 pounds but this year no more than 15. My new guidebook hasn’t arrived yet from Cicerone. It is a recent publication, which is preferred in any guidebook as it contains suggestions for the route and accommodations.

If you have walked the del Norte, please send suggestions, especially of what to avoid and where to stay.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Camino Del Norte Here I Come!

  1. Hats off to you brave and adventurous lady…

  2. Darlene says:

    Good for you to do this again!! You are truly my hero. I am living in Spain right now, on the Costa Blanca. So you have a friend here if you need one. 🙂

  3. Not so brave! Thanks ladies. Is that near the camino Darlene?

Leave a Reply

