Pedrouzo on May 14

What a difference one day on the Camino makes! Very few pilgrims yesterday and hundreds today, especially in Pedrouzo. The cafes were all vying for the business. Most had the menu del dia for 10 euros. I saw one with 12 euros.  

The caminos overlap after Arzua. So Arzua was busy yesterday but today was crazy with foot traffic. I encountered one pilgrim begging. He was more overweight than most pilgrims and had a huge backpack. He asked me if I spoke English. I should not have answered.  Do you have some euros to spare? I walked on. He again spoke.  Surely you can spare enough for a coffee. I felt bad but seeing him with his iPhone and big belly made me think he was not hungry or destitute.  And I was afraid to take out my wallet.

Tomorrow many hundreds will pass us on bike and by foot. I just want a comfortable bed and a few days to recouperate. If I could go to the airport and get my ticket changed, I’d be on the first flight out of here!  I loved the journey but the end is in sight. 

      

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

