Finances on Caminos

I think having a budget is a good practice if you want to arrive home with your Visa balance reasonable for you. If you plan to stay in all albergues the price can be by donation to as high as 18 euros, most being 6 euros on the Camino France’s, Camino Portuguese and the Camino del Norte. Some people books hostels or hotels which can run from 15 to 35 euros per person. I may have used 6 or 7 on the Camino del Norte and 10-12 on Camino Portuguese, and only 4 on Camino Frances.

Then your most costly expense is food and alcohol. If you just have wine with your menu del dia then you are okay. Breakfast usually runs you 3.50 to 5 euros. I love freshly squeezed orange juice and Cafe con leche but the croissant is usually out. The toast with cheese and/or marmalade is usually a favorite. If I’m really hungry the Spanish tortilla suits me. Then of course you have a problem of finding a cafe or finding one open at 6 or 7 am.

Midday I enjoyed the bocadillo with cheese and ham or bacon and eggs on occasion. With a pop or coffee this could cost anywhere from 4 to 6 euros.  

The evening meal was always too heavy and late for me so I tried to have it before 6 each day. The cost was reasonable at 8.50 to 12 euros. Usually a mixed or Russian salad first, followed by fish or meat and chips and later dessert of flan, Santiago cake, ice cream, cheese and quince or yoghurt. Wine and bread are included. 

So you can see the cost increases, depending on what you eat. Some days I did not bother with the menu del dia. One evening a friend and I spent 3 or 4 euros each and enjoyed a picnic meal sitting on a bench. Often I had a burger with fries or salad.

All in all the food could total 20-25 euros in a day. Some people buy their own food at a supermarket and cook in the albergues, This really cuts down on costs. Most people buy fruit, nuts, chocolate and water to have for snacking along the way. On my first Camino I had 20 energy bars, which I got sick of very quickly.

You allow money for incidentals such as a walking stick if yours is stolen, a hankie or new socks or underwear. Souvenirs always eat into my budget at the end. Taxis, busses and trains may be used from time to time. Donations could be an added expense.

I figure 40-50 euros per day is a good estimate of a person’s costs on the three that I’ve done. Sometimes you will get away with 25 euros.  I had an 11 euros day this year which included 6 for the albergue and 5 for a burger meal, with my own groceries from the day before providing breakfast and lunch.

   
 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

