The Ferry Last Stop (Bed and Breakfast) Cafe

Are you up for a different cafe with an eclectic collection of art, artifacts, souvenirs, books and Newfoundland memorabilia, and two of the friendliest ladies you could ever meet? There are two rooms available in the house for couples or singles, with a $130 a night charge for bed and an awesome breakfast. Paulette King, the owner, is refreshing and interesting, and I’ve been told “a wonderful chef”. I tasted her Bavarian cake and never wanted to leave! The bottomless cup of coffee for $2.25 is wonderful as well. Gotta love no one counting how many cups you drink! My kind of place!

Lobster bisque and lobster salad are available fresh, as Paulette’s helper and friend Leslie provides seafood obtained from her fisherman husband’s daily catch. Codfish is fried to perfection, I’ve also heard from Leslie.  I can’t wait to return for a lobster dinner!

Organic food is provided to customers as Paulette strives to cook with only the best ingredients.  She is passionate about life and food. While I enjoyed my coffee she was making a nonalcoholic drink for Leslie with a recipe only she knows. Her imagination and zest for her business is obvious from the first minute you walk through the door.  The stone steps bring you to a space like no other.  Many rocks and plants within the space help to make you feel grounded. 

The band Generations is playing there this coming Friday, if you would like to pop by for some tasty grub and some good local music. At other times there are meetings for drumming and music.   Regina Wright, a local energy worker, presents her Dream workshops here. 

So check out this cafe/bed and breakfast located at 2 Loop Drive in Portugal Cove-St. Philips, Newfoundland.  You won’t be disappointed.  Bring along a friend or two to enjoy this unique cafe. Like me, it might become one of your favourite places to visit!

   
    
    
   

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

