Looking Back

Do you ever wonder if anyone cares about your life, how you fill your days, weeks, months and years? Do you look in a mirror and wonder if you could make your time amazing, memorable-the best experiences to suit you? I wonder this a lot. The cliche ‘Live each day as if it’s your last’ pops into my head and I berate myself for too much television, too much sitting doing very little. 

So I decided to find out what would I like to do more than anything else and here are my findings. See if any of this might set a fire under you!

1. I read about the saints. I started with Padre Pio and Mother Teresa of Calcutta. I perked up and thought about my journey and how I could help others, instead of wondering if I’m not doing my best to make me happy.  I’ve ordered a book about 100 saints. Now that should really make me think!

2. How can I use my creativity? I’ve written three books with three more partially finished.  I’ve done nearly 500 blog posts. I’ve sewed many quilts. One day I decided to take up abstract painting and I love it. I’m no good but friends like what I paint. I give my canvasses and paper creations away. I love gifting others with my brightly coloured pieces! I’ve even signed up to do a printmaking course and have enjoyed hours trying new techniques. Who would have known if I didn’t put myself out there?! 

3. Hiking has made me happy since 2013. I’ve walked three different caminos de Santiago, two alone. I’ve seen many villages, cafes, churches, albergues and sites. I’ve made many friends from many countries. Now my Slovenian friends are coming here to walk the East Coast Trail with me!  I don’t like walking the same trail each time or going the same loop each day but I can walk 15-25 km a day for 20,30 or 40 days! So have you tried walking trails alone or with a friend? You might love it too. Walking the Via Francigena is now on my Bucket List!

What are your discoveries/passions?Let us be inspired by your story 

   
    
   

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looking Back

  1. Darlene says:

    You are amazing and a good example for others!

  2. Good for you. It is hard to find a world getting smaller and smaller a we age. The only way to get more is to break out! And you did it with color. Maybe I should take up my brushes again.

Leave a Reply

