Walking on the Manuels River Trail

Last week my good friend Brenda and I decided to try out the Manuels River Trail. It was gorgeous with many benches, wooden steps to climb and the best part of all -the views. The Fall colours were remarkable.  The root systems of some trees called for sketching and double takes as we walked quickly through our windy cold day. The flat areas were easy but the steps would be difficult for walkers with knee or back problems.  We walked at a good pace, stopping to take in the picturesque views along the river and to take photos. 

We ambled along chatting about every topic under the sun and I with my trusty walking sticks tried to walk on the sides of the wooden steps, climbing easily with the sturdy shock absorbing assistance.  I enjoy using the sticks and they do help to make the walking a little easier on old joints!( I’m hoping my old joints last another 20-30 years so I want to take care of them!)

It was a walk of splendid proportions. Great company, cool sunny weather and views for a lifetime. I always love walking beside a river! It could not have been a more perfect day.

After our breathtaking walk we headed off to a friend’s house for homemade pea soup, wraps and several desserts!

 What more could a person ask for in this life?  Good friends, good food and challenging physical exercise that gets forgotten in the beauty of the place?  And health and strength to be able to enjoy it all! Thank you God!

    
    
    
 

Next time I will visit the Hibernia Interpretation Centre which houses some trilobite fossils and the history of the area. There is also a Second Cup Cafe for those who want an easy lunch or just a cup of java.  You can check out more on this spectacular trail and centre at http://www.manuelsriver.com.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walking on the Manuels River Trail

  1. Darlene says:

    Gorgeous!! A great place to go for a walk and even better with a friend.

Leave a Reply

