Fox Harbour Connections

The last time I visited Placentia with a good friend I was not aware of my connection to the Whiffins in Fox Harbour. Had I known I would have visited. My grandfather on my mother’s side is Andrew Whiffin who is the son of Patrick and Catherine (McCue) Whiffin. My grandmother,wife of Andrew, hailed from St. Lawrence. Her name is Elizabeth Slaney.  My maternal grandparents became one of the first 25 families who settled Midland on the west coast of the island of Newfoundland.  A street is named after them. 

My grandfather Andrew joined the Canadian army in WW1. More research is needed to get more details about his involvement. He signed up and after his return he rarely spoke about his experiences. 

I have more questions than I have answers. If you have information on the 37th Battalion and/or about the Whiffins of Fox Harbour I’d like to hear from you. Comments come to me before they appear on the blog so if you leave private details that you don’t want shared, say so. 

  

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fox Harbour Connections

  1. Darlene says:

    A very handsome grandfather. I hope you find some answers to your questions.

Leave a Reply

