The Aussie Connection

I’ve only known a handful of Aussies and I’m really happy to say I liked most of them.  I met Judi on the Camino France’s and she helped me get around the mountain and also improve my walking. She also sold me a Kathmandu merino wool top as I found it cold in the mornings and evenings.  We walked separately after a few days but I never forgot her helpfulness. Thanks Judi!

This past Camino Del Norte I met a lawyer turned teacher who was a very private person. She put me in my place when I asked her if she was enlightened after a service she attended. She did not like anyone making light of her beliefs and while I wasn’t trying to do that, I should not have been so flippant. I should have thought before I spoke. The next day we walked together for a couple hours and she helped me understand many things about my own life. When I wanted to quit the walk, she reminded me that I would be throwing it all in God’s face as He had helped me get this far and she encouraged me to pray and follow my heart. 

Just recently I found a blog about an Aussie lady, Nancy Liddle,who had walked Camino Frances at age 55. You can find her on Facebook. She suggested I write a piece about how the caminos were different for me. I’m working on that now.

Another couple who slept across from me were on a trip of a lifetime. They each had sick parents home in Australia and were worrying about them. The man wore a huge gold necklace and had lost all his toenails. They were frugal and waited while I ate a burger to see if they wanted one. They were friendly and a devoted couple. 

So Australia still stays in my memories to this day. Very nice people and a country I want to visit some day! 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Aussie Connection

  1. Darlene says:

    I have some great Auzzie friends as well. Lovely people.

Leave a Reply

