The Traditional Coffee House and Deli Opened in Torbay, NL

I couldn’t believe a cafe opened its doors in Torbay two weeks before I found it! It looks like a house along Torbay Rd. until you see the sign. There’s parking for about 10 cars in front of the gray building. I really had to look for 1496 before I knew I had arrived! If you’re trying to find it, it’s located past the post office and before Foodland .

Having been there twice this week I want to say it’s a very cozy cafe with fine fare.  The coffee is delicious;however, I would like a second cup for free or a loonie! One is never enough as I’ve noted from hundreds of visits to coffee establishments. I purchased a tomato and sausage soup to have with my supper but it got woofed down immediately after arriving home. And it was very good! I sampled the brownie and raspberry croissant as well, one per visit! Also memorable and yummy! You can find quite a variety and one to sample. 

The young people who work there are very friendly, and I hope to enjoy their company more often in the future. The owner, Tina Ricketts, works in the cafe and answered my questions in an energetic manner. I noticed a CD of her son Allan’s music and one of his paintings. I don’t know about you, but I expect friendly workers when I frequent a cafe and  it’s something that shouldn’t change because if one does not feel welcomed there are many other Tims and Starbucks around to feel not at all entertained or wanted! Since I love people watching and writing, I expect to spend many hours in this  establishment!  The free wifi is a draw for friends and visitors alike. 

Another positive for the cafe is a list of art classes offered in the mornings. 


So far very good. The sandwiches and salads look healthy and encouraging for yet another visit. Nice to see this new business in Torbay. I would be happy to see boutiques and restaurants pop up here, to draw more visitors to our spectacular town. A jewelry store and a thrift store would get me out and about more often. I’m still hoping Codys will reopen its doors or reinvent itself.  Perhaps a joint bookstore & coffee place would be another draw. I’m happy to say we have several good salons with very friendly workers. It can only get better from here! 

Update

I have visited this cafe with several friends since writing the above blog post. The customer service is very good with friendly banter each time I frequented the place. I tried a breakfast sandwich and would prefer that it was made while I wait, not just warmed in a microwave. Perhaps sandwiches could be done on the spot, with fillings prepared in advance. People do like choice, with or without mayo, different breads etc.  I met Allan and found him to be a good businessman with a warm demeanour. Some music has been played by various artists.  (Some were announced on the Facebook Page. I’ve heard that Dave Panting played there!)

All in all, this cafe/deli is a wonderful addition to our town and like most new businesses there is room for simple changes to make customers happier and keep them returning.

Some suggestions:

1. A senior coffee or loonie fill up for coffee/tea( There is a card to buy 8 and get one cup free)

2. Half sandwich with cup of soup for $5.99  or half sandwich and small salad for $6.99. (Speaking for myself and a few friends, a $10 lunch would be a big draw!)

3. To sell more baked goods, some cheaper $1 cookies 

4. Some lower priced items for hikers who are on a strict budget

5. A suggestion box for new ways to improve

Good luck to the owners!

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Town of Torbay and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Traditional Coffee House and Deli Opened in Torbay, NL

  1. Darlene says:

    I love places like this! It looks so very welcoming. I miss my local coffee shops in Tsawwassen, BC but have found some lovely ones here in Spain we frequent and get treated very well. I should do a blog on them. Nice to see you here. XO

  2. Stephen B. Melamed says:

    Looking forward to visiting this establishment on our vacation.

  3. Delightful review. Thanks for your recent visit to my blog.

Leave a Reply

