The Correct Hiking Poles

During my Camino Del Norte in a village in Spain called Markina my Black Diamond z poles were stolen and I was broken hearted. A call of nature in a beautiful cafe separated me and my expensive poles. I left both my backpack and poles outside the locked bathroom door. Some pilgrims said I was lucky both had not been stolen. It was very emotional to have to go on without the trusty sticks that supported my knees so well. Since I am 5’4” the length at 110cm was perfect. These poles were foldable and easily fit inside my small Gregory Jade. And very light at 13 ounces. 

If you are buying hiking sticks it is important to hold the grip so that your arm is at a 90 degree angle. You can get the poles in 100cm, 110 cm, 120cm etc. Some are adjustable. I’ve been told to follow manufacturers’ advice on websites or ask a store salesperson. Try many until you get the ones you like. I’m on the lookout for a sale to replace my z poles.

As an end to this story I should mention a German girl who gave me her poles as she was finishing up her hike and was going shopping in Santander. I felt blessed to have met such a kind hiker.

 

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Correct Hiking Poles

  1. Darlene says:

    That was so very kind of the other pilgrim to give you her poles.The kindness of strangers makes up for the bad ones who steal things.

  2. The good always outweighs the ”not so good” in almost every life situation…thank heavens. Good Luck in your search for these poles.

Leave a Reply

