In Da Loop Pub and Restaurant, Fermuse

After the beautiful views all along the shore I was famished for fish and chips in Fermuse. Did I mention that I’m obsessed with finding the best fish and chips in Newfoundland? Service was a little slow due to several people arriving within a 15 minute time frame. I found a menu and then after 10 minutes asked to be served. The welcome was wanting but the gentleman came and took my order and was chatty enough then. I kept imagining the decor without the flashy red mirrors and the multicoloured wall lights, and more of Newfoundland artifacts for decoration. I could imagine nice Newfoundland vests or aprons to add a touch of nostalgia. I wore tartan uniforms at Xavier HS in Deer Lake for years! The framed and canvass pictures, nice dark hardwood floors and beautifully chosen tables and chairs were very tasteful. I didn’t realize there was a deck or I would have eaten there. It reminded me of how I paid more to eat outside in Spain. 

The one piece of fish arrived and it looked like three pieces all in one huge piece! Homemade tartar sauce would have impressed me a lot. The fries and fish were greasy which I remedied with my napkin! But the taste was awesome. Kudos to the cook!

I asked to pay immediately and was presented with my bill. No surprises there. So all in all the server was stretched thin although two ladies did help with bringing out the orders. I would have liked a little more conversation but for $10.40 what can one expect? The service was respectable but I did not feel overly welcomed. On a scale of 1 to 10, where 10 is top notch customer service, this place gets a 7! 

Pauline is a Camino walker and author. She has walked three caminos de Santiago with over 2000 km hiked. Her book Strong Camino Woman is available at Smashwords and Apple. 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Da Loop Pub and Restaurant, Fermuse

  1. Darlene says:

    I am always on the lookout for good fish and chips too. I can´t handle greasy so that has eliminated a few. We found one close to where we live called Captain Morgan´s and on Friday we can get fish, chips and mushy peas for 5€ each. Can´t beat that. Service is fast and friendly and there is a nice terrace. The servings are generous but not huge which suits us. There are many English people living in this part of Spain so there are many F & C shops.

Leave a Reply

