Don’t Get Scammed Like Me!

Just pay the postage and you can get tubes of skin care of Angelina Jolie’s line. Like a fool I believed! When the box arrived, I was on my way to Halifax so I didn’t open it.  But a few days later, I got billed $99.95 US. Quickly I called my bank and had the Visa cancelled. Pearlyskin, Abellamayfair, and perhaps many other names owed me $135 Can dollars. Boy, was I mad!

I’m not one to give up, so I started a battery of emails to everyone I heard from at abellamayfair. I asked them to refund my money in full.  They offered $30 US. I wouldn’t agree.  They offered $50 but I insisted on the full amount.  I said I would put in a complaint with the BBB and the RCMP.  I pleaded with them to do the right thing.  I told them that they were scammers and preyed on the elderly! They had the gall to tell me it was all legitimate.  The small print said I agreed to the trial and within 14 days my Visa would be billed.  I saw no such thing when I signed up.  I read very carefully. So I would like to inform all of my readers not to give your Visa to pay just the postage.  It is a scam! The two small containers I received are not worth a hundred dollars US.  If I hadn’t stopped them from billing my Visa, they were ready to charge another $90 for the second tubo e!

To bring you up to date, with many emails and calls to the BBB and my bank, I discovered that you can get your money refunded if you are persistent. I received $50 US back and if I had not threatened to go to the police and get my bank to put a claim in, I would not have received another message that they had refunded the last $49.95 owed to me.  They asked me to send back the package and send them the tracking number.  Instead I said I would only give them their own tracking number as I hadn’t opened the products.  I said I was not paying another $20 to send their garbage back to them. I have to wait to see if the second refund is actually done, as it takes a few days for it to show up on the Visa statement.

So I beg you not to be as foolish as I was to try to get Angelina’s skincare line for $13 Can dollars.  I’m sure most of you would not fall for this scheme, but if you have been scammed and are feeling bad about it, contact the BBB and keep hounding the people who email you from the company. Cancel your Visa card immediately and report it in any way you can to keep these scammers from making their money through this tricky scheme.

Be aware that a trial is not a free sample! So I was told by about 10 people from their company. These scammers use many different names.  Their English is not perfect. The ads look legit, and there is a disclaimer that states they do not guarantee that these products will work for you.  Think “Where is the research? Do I want to put untested creams on my face?” Enough said.  If just one of you learn from my stupidity I will be happy.

 

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Scams, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

