Snowshoeing In Pippy Park

Yesterday my friend Madonna invited me to go snowshoeing with her. Did I mention that I like to watch snow falling from my window and cover up warm and sleep in Winter storms? Well, why not try it for another first in my life!

We met at the North Lodge in the middle of a bus load of students returning from their day of sucking in all that fresh air. Were they hyped! I said to myself “I wish some of their enthusiam would rub off on me.” I met Joyce and Clayton and we chatted. Then two old friends of mine who I hadnt chatted with since the 70s came in and I welcomed them to our table. This was turning out not so bad after all.

Eventually we got started. We were handed some lightweight snowshoes. I took some poles. With Mary’s help we got them on and we were off. Did I mention that Madonna got us maps? It was hilarious as we didnt open them as we were too busy gabbing and enjoying the scenery. I wouldnt be able to tell you which trails we walked as we just walked. When we returned to the lodge we discovered we were the last and we had missed the platter of sandwiches. Gone! I guess the other skiers and walkers had built up a big appetite!

It turned out to be a fabulous afternoon with my good friend Madonna and all my new walking friends.

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in outdoor fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Snowshoeing In Pippy Park

  1. A most delightful afternoon indeed Pauline! Very much enjoyed the walk and the chat with you..
    I think that amidst all the chatting we took the route on the ski trails some of the time ..Oh well.A first time for everything!

  2. elspethc says:

    I like the sound of this – walking and talking whether on snowshoes or just feet – good friendship there

  3. dorannrule says:

    Sounds like a wonderful day…..

  4. Darlene says:

    So great to try something new and doing it with friends makes it all the better. Glad you had a good time!

  5. Next week may be just fine…We will have to plan a day then…Looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

