High On Sunny Days and Being Alive- But …where’s the Fish and Chips?

I just sent an email to a good friend of mine and said …I don’t need drugs, just water.  Of course, added to sunshine and great family and friends! I can even suffer fog if I have to, but the water and people, can’t do without. Fish and chips once in a while won’t kill me either!  (Had to put that in, for all those of you who know my voracious appetite!)

Yes, fish and chips did come to my mind, after the water, to be honest, as I’ve been searching for the best fish and chips in Newfoundland for quite some time. No, it’s not Ches’s Fish and Chips I’m after.  I’ve been there at least a half dozen times but no luck in getting deep fried fish that tastes as good as hubby’s! He knows the best fish. He should as he was a fisherman for forty years, and he uses new fat and a very clean deep fryer. But he only deep fries once every three years, if I’m lucky!  I think he imagines that one  or two pieces of deep fried fish is going to clog up my arteries in an hour and I’ll flop down with a heart attack or stroke. So I’m left craving the taste of good fish and chips from some deep fryer that might have month old grease and leavings of many fish and chips!

So I’ve offered two friends boiled cod from the Food Fishery gains, but so far no takers! Yes, I can compromise! Water instead of fat! Though I’m sure it doesn’t make one iota difference in the measurement of my waistline! Hope your day is enjoyable wherever you are.

fish & chips

fish & chips (Photo credit: David Ascher)

 

About Newfoundland Traveller

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing and travelling. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to High On Sunny Days and Being Alive- But …where’s the Fish and Chips?

  1. Tony Marquis says:

    Hi. Thanks for stopping by my blog and for the link. Hope you and others enjoy them.

  2. Darlene says:

    A good feast of fish and chips is hard to beat. On the west coast we have found a couple of great places. My hubby is from England so he is particular about his fish and chips!

  3. Sounds yummy. You need to get hubby to compromise to keep you from falling off the wagon.

Leave a Reply

