Trying To Eat More Nutritious Bread

When a loaf of whole grain bread at The Rocket costs nearly five bucks, isn’t it time to try to make your own? I know I can get Dempsters at Dominion or Sobeys for three bucks, but I don’t trust all the ingredients on the package.  I want to make sure I know what’s in my bread.

So today after making a trip to the Bulk Barn to buy 9 grain flour, I made a batch of buns.  It took a few minutes to mix them up, let them rise an hour, knead down and then rise again, another hour. Then make them into small buns and let rise. Another hour! And finally putting in the oven on 400 degrees for 30 minutes but it was well worth the wait. I’m so happy with the taste as well as the look!

Have a peek. Not bad for someone who might have made bread ten times in the past ten years! And it is so good for me. Anyone around for a cup of tea and a bread bun with homemade rhubarb jam?

Yes, taking the time to make better bread is an effort, but I feel it is an effort that provides good nutrition which my body needs and deserves.

 

 

About Circle of Life Energetics

I'm a Newfoundlander with a love of reading, writing,travelling, and reflexology. I've travelled around our province and lived in four provinces of Canada. I love a good book and a good blog. My family means the world to me, and some day I hope to travel to many countries of the world with my husband and sons' families. I want to use reflexology, reiki, TT, EFT and IHM to help others feel healthy.
This entry was posted in Adult Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Trying To Eat More Nutritious Bread

  1. You have inspired me to try to make my own bread….

  2. Those buns look deliciuos! Good for you to make your own. It is still the best way!

  3. Keep it up! Much healthier. I’m off to make 5 loaves of organic ww bread as we speak!

  4. dorannrule says:

    Oh, these buns look scrumptious! Congratulations on your effort and your success. Enjoy!

  5. Lori says:

    Healthy food always cost more than junk food, ugh!! I see it takes a while to create, but so worth the effort! Thanks for sharing this recipe. It looks so good and it’s good for you as well!

Leave a comment